Reviews

What guests say:
 
“Lovely Inn great food and fantastic setting”

“rooms were smart and clean” 

“Fantastic views over the Derbyshire Dales” 

“great spot for cycling and sight seeing” 

“great stay for a walking holiday”

“warm friendly welcome comfortable, nicely decorated rooms and home cooked food” 

“perfectly located”

“Home from Home” 


Peak Break - Rating 4/5

What a great place for a short break. Room was clean and comfortable, and, despite the proximity of the pub to the A515, surprisingly undisturbed sleep. Our hosts and their staff were most affable, serving good pub food and excellent beers. Great base for exploring the peaks and we would definitely stay here again.

Response

Thank you so much Andrew,It was a pleasure to make your stay with us enjoyable.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Andrew Coppack | Sat 26th Aug 2017


Two day break - Rating 5/5

Lovely, friendly place. We are vegans, and they tried really hard to make us as welcome as possible, even to the point of making a couple of meals especially for us. Can\'t fault the hospitality. The inn is not in the centre of a village, but we liked it that way. Very peaceful, with lovely views. The room was comfortable, with an en suite and clean. Ideal for a couple of days walking, or a base for visiting the local attractions. Really enjoyed our stay

Response

Dear Julie,Thanks for informing us of your dietary needs. We were only to pleased to help make your stay enjoyable.We hope to see you again on your next weekend break.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Julie mason | Mon 21st Aug 2017


Perfect - Rating 5/5

As 2 pals on our annual motorcycle rideout we found the Jug n Glass an ideal overnight stop.Large clean room..secure parking..good beer and excellent food. Stuart and his wife made us both very welcome..Thoroughly recommended.

Response

Hi Terry,It was great to have another two gents like yourself who liked what we had to offer. We welcome all bikers like yourselves who are looking to stop over, and enjoy a couple of pints and some home cooked food before bed.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Terry Raines | Sat 19th Aug 2017


The Jug and Glass Inn - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended. One of the most helpful and friendly places we have ever stayed.

Response

Thank you very much Meryl.Pleased to have been of service.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Meryl Rawlings | Sat 19th Aug 2017


Two night stay- Rating 4/5

A very relaxing and comfortable stay.The food was excellent and the staff friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thanks Stephen,We hope you will pop in and visit us again in the future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Stephen McMorrow | Tue 15th Aug 2017


Short stay in early August - Rating 3/5

My daughter and I were made very welcome. The room was comfortable and the evening meaal was good. Breakfast was adequate. I would have liked a choice of honey and Marmite in the spreads.The landlord was very friendly, the only real drawback was the lack of wifi or G4 signal for phones. This limited the research we could do for places to visit.

Response

Hi Linda.Thanks you for your feedback in relation to the internet. It is something we are looking to address in the near future.Thank you for staying with us.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Francis | Fri 4th Aug 2017


an ideal location for a short walking break - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay here tremendously. the owners were warm friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were freshly cooked and there was a good and varied choice. Bedrooms comfortable security and parking excellent. we look forward to staying here again

Response

Hi Judith,Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to looking after you again in the near future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Judith Rouse | Thu 6th Jul 2017


Long weekend stay. - Rating 5/5

Excellent hosts who have taken the inn over in the last year and are striving very hard to modernise it and make it as comfortable as possible.Very attentive staff and good and wholesome food in the restaurant. Will be back!

Response

Thanks Terrence,look forward to seeing you again in the near future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Terence Blake | Wed 21st Jun 2017


Lovely views - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night while visiting local area. Owner was very pleasant and helpful. Lovely views from the very clean comfy room. Breakfast was excelllent wish I had time to have my evening meal here as looked really good.

Response

Hi Rick,We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will choose to stay in the future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff.

Reviewer:Rick Hart | Sat 17th Jun 2017


Lovely time - Rating 4/5

Wonderful food, comfortable bed and room, very quiet night although beside the main road. Good beers and very friendly landlord, landlady and staff. Good value for money

Response

Hi Bob,Great to have you stay, and so pleased you enjoyed the beers.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:BOB CRAVEN | Wed 14th Jun 2017


Pilgrim\'s trail - Rating 5/5

Recently stayed here as a group of 5 walking the pilgrim\'s trail at the beginning of May.Great place for the walk, warm welcome from our hosts, lovely rooms and the piece de resistance a long, deep bath and loads of hot water! This is then topped by lovely food after a hard day\'s walking.I seriously recommend the Jug and Glass and look forward to returning soon.

Response

Thanks Val.It was great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mrs. Val Grimwade | Wed 24th May 2017


2 night stay on Sunday 7th to Tuesday 9th May - Rating 5/5

We couldn\'t fault the accommodation, food or service.

Response

Thanks Tony,We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Tony Brooker | Sat 13th May 2017


Lovely Place! - Rating 5/5

Very nice Inn. Owners very nice and accommodating. Good location to travel to nearby towns including Buxton and Bakewell. 45 minute drive from Kinder Scout route.

Response

Thanks Connor,Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.Best wishesStuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Connor Hall | Sun 23rd Apr 2017


great - Rating 5/5

this pub is brilliant. stayed here twice this year already . rooms nice and cosy, everything very clean, stuart and gwen took it over last year i think. nothing is too much trouble. food, we\'ve stayed here for four nights altogether and i had beef stew every night, although it beat me one night, other food looked really good and my wife really liked her veggie meal. can\'t fault anything about this pub. superb location in the middle of the peak district.I\'LL BE BACK

Response

Thanks again Anthony.The Beef Stew has slain many a fine man and woman. It was great to see you again and i hope you will be coming again in the near future.Kindest wishes to you both.stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. anthony scott | Mon 17th Apr 2017


Perfect short stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent base for walking, cycling and local sights. Clean and comfortable with welcoming hosts, good, wholesome, tasty menu and good beer.

Response

Thanks John,We hope to see you again one day soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:John Whittingham | Sun 16th Apr 2017


A very warm welcome - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome. Upgraded from a twin to a double. Room very comfy, clean and spacious. Food excellent. Stuart and Gwen very accommodating, which extended to them even fixing us up with breakfast, though we hadn\'t booked one. Definitely returning.

Response

Thanks Joy,We will be seeing you again soon.Best wishesStuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Joy Rattray | Sun 16th Apr 2017


Fun at the Jug - Rating 5/5

Very good room and so close Tissington rail trail and Harrington. Hosts fabulous as we\'re the breakfasts and dinners

Response

Thanks Diana,Next time you come we will see if we can tempt you with one of our specials for the evening menu.So glad you enjoyed your stay.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Diana Crombie | Wed 12th Apr 2017


Thank you for a lovely stay. - Rating 4/5

We would also like to take this oportunity to thank you both for a lovely stay.Your hospitality and cooking were wonderful, and the setting absolutely beautiful.You are also ideally located for a cycling holiday in the amazing Peak district.We were delighted to find that we could access the Tissington and High Peak trails so easily without having to use our cars.The mattress in room 7 was unfortunately rather hard and a bitlumpy but that was the only negative thing. (Our travelling companions all had comfortable beds so it must just have been ours).Would definitely have given 5 stars otherwise. Highly recommend.

Response

Thanks Rosie,We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosie Cotton | Tue 11th Apr 2017


Three day break - Rating 5/5

We couldn\'t fault the Jug and Glass Inn and enjoyed excellent food, a full range of facilities and a very friendly atmosphere. Great location for walking, cycling with beautiful Dales scenery as a backdrop. Cheers Joan and Peter.

Response

Thanks Joan and Peter,Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We willhope to see you both again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Oldale | Sat 8th Apr 2017


Three day break - Rating 5/5

We couldn\'t fault the Jug and Glass Inn and enjoyed excellent food, a full range of facilities and a very friendly atmosphere. Great location for walking, cycling with beautiful Dales scenery as a backdrop. Cheers Joan and Peter.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Oldale | Sat 8th Apr 2017


would recommend- Rating 4/5

Very Friendly and clean and good food

Response

Hi Sue,Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Best wishes,Stuartcand Gwen

Reviewer:Sue Dyson | Wed 5th Apr 2017


a very positive experience - Rating 5/5

We found the landlord welcoming, happy to accommodate our changed arrival time.The best experience was that the kitchen was happy to supply my husband with gluten free breakfast, even though this is not the expected option.

Response

Hi DavidThank you for staying with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:David Bailey | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


A great place to stay - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay with you. It worked really well in with the cycling being so close to the White Peak Trails.The food was excellent, particularly the fish pie. The room was very comfortable as well.As helpful comments could we suggest more towel rails in the en suite to hang towels up to dry &in the restaurant suggest having a wine list with a larger selection although what we had was fine.We hope to come back &would always recommend you. All the best for your first summer season. Owain &Julie Lister.

Response

Hi Owain,Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. I appreciate your feedback and we will certainly be reviewing all such constructive feedback with a view to improving our business in the coming months. Thanks once again and keep cycling, especially after demolishing that fish pie. I will also see if i can surprise you with a little nip of scotch that you may not have tried next time you pop in.All the best to you and your family.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. Owain Lister | Tue 21st Mar 2017


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely people, lovely place 😍 we will be going back very soon.

Response

Thanks so much for your feedback. we hope to see you soon.stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun Wright | Sat 21st Jan 2017


New Year Trip - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Jug &Glass we did not have chance to dine there ,as we had gone to surprise friends who live near and they insisted we joined then.We we go back again in spring.

Response

Hi Cristin. Thank you for staying with us and we are just very pleased that you are considering us in the future.Best wishesStuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Christinr Holroyd | Mon 2nd Jan 2017


New year weekend- Rating 4/5

We have just had a long weekend at the glass &jug both Stuart and Gwen were very helpful and friendly especially as they have only had the pub for a month the rooms were large and very clean the food was basic fare but very good. Had a great stay and would stay again

Response

Hi Deborah,Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Deborah Newvell | Mon 2nd Jan 2017


Overnight stay- Rating 4/5

Stayed overnight while visiting the local area. Avery warm welcome by the owners who did everything to make our stay enjoyable,The home cookedfood was tasty and came in very large portions. A cosy and comfortable place to stay

Response

Dear Malcolm,Thank you for staying with us, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Malcolm Owers | Sat 31st Dec 2016


A friendly Inn with a beautiful view - Rating 5/5

Just 2 weeks into their venture, the hosts provided my wife and I a warm and friendly venue for an overnight stay. The home-cooked food menu was wholesomely basic and provided a tasty evening meal, although at £9.95 per head we chose to skip breakfast. Two local well-kept real ales just had to be sampled too! Perfectly located for easy access on the A515, poised on the top of an escarpment overlooking a wondrous view of the valley below, I\'m sure many a holiday-maker will be happy with their decision to \"stay a while\"at this Inn.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Kevin Waygood-West | Fri 30th Dec 2016


Excellent stay very welcoming- Rating 5/5

Lovely place and room, new owners who were very welcoming and helpful. Fully supportive of my Coeliac disease providing me with gluten free bread and cereal.

Response

Thank you very much Jade. We hope to see you again sometime soon. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Miss. Jade Hooper | Fri 30th Dec 2016


A most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

we enjoyed our stay The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, both the breakfasts and evening meals.Well placed for lots of good walks and places to visit. We hope to visit again.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Angela White | Mon 31st Oct 2016


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay,room,food and beer great,brilliant location for bike hire,staff very friendly and helpful,would stay again

Response

Thank you very much. Yvonne

Reviewer:Mrs. AlisonCox| Mon 24th Oct 2016


Relaxing weekend - Rating 5/5

We had lovely rooms and very friendly service. The food was great and the portions a very good size. They were freshly prepared and very hot. The dinners had a good variety of vegetables and were well presented.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. susan sambrook | Mon 17th Oct 2016


October 2016 - Rating 5/5

Very friendly with excellent food and beer. Really good local knowledge of walking routes.

Response

Thank you.Pleased you enjoyed your stay.Andrew & Yvonne

Reviewer:Mr. Dave Tinsley | Sun 9th Oct 2016


lovely place - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay. Room excellent very clean everywhere.Breakfast very good and a good choice of evening meal.Would definately recommend.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Maureen Smith | Mon 3rd Oct 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Our room was very comfortable and clean with great views. We were on the ground floor which meant we could park our car away from the road and under our window. Good pub food each night of our stay. Handy for Chatsworth, Buxton and Bakewell, all worth a visit.Great weekend!

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Anthony Canterbury | Mon 3rd Oct 2016


Nice weekend break - Rating 4/5

Comfy clean room. Great location for country walks, which was our main reason for visiting the area. Friendly landlady. Great cider!Thank you.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Geoff Cunliffe | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Great Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, comfortable bed, superb shower, lovely touch of toiletries supplied. The food is brilliant. Beautiful location with stunning views. Yvonne and Andrew are wonderful friendly, welcoming hosts who deliver service with a smile. We had a wonderful 4 night stay at this beautiful inn and will stay again. Thanks Yvonne, Andrew and your great staff.

Response

Thanks Carol.

Reviewer:Carol Routledge | Thu 15th Sep 2016


Business Trip to Buxton - Rating 4/5

Good location on way to Buxton, comfortable room with king size bed and good sized bathroom.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:PAUL WELLS | Fri 9th Sep 2016


Short break in the dales- Rating 4/5

Nice place with friendly staff and food good. I personally think slightly overpriced as no breakfast was included. Room excellent and facilities in the room were good.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Mark Martin | Wed 31st Aug 2016


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Disabled
  • Self Catering
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat