Reviews

What guests say:
 
“Lovely Inn great food and fantastic setting”

“rooms were smart and clean” 

“Fantastic views over the Derbyshire Dales” 

“great spot for cycling and sight seeing” 

“great stay for a walking holiday”

“warm friendly welcome comfortable, nicely decorated rooms and home cooked food” 

“perfectly located”

“Home from Home” 


TWO NIGHT STAY - Rating 4/5

WE HAD A COMFORTABLE STAY HERE FOR 2 NIGHTS, BEDROOMS COMFORTABLE &QUIET(SITED AWAY FROM ROAD). WELCOMING LANDLORD &LANDLADY. GOOD FOOD &BEER,GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS AS STANDARD FOR BREAKFAST &EVENING MEAL. WOULD HAPPILY RETURN IF VISITING AREA AGAIN.

Reviewer:R | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 5 days ago


Our stay at the jug and glass- Rating 5/5

Could not have wished for a more comfortable stay

Reviewer:H | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Great pub - Rating 5/5

Great pub with lovely food. We really ejoyed our stay and our dogs were made very welcome. Excellent postion to explore the Buxton area.

Reviewer:Geraldine D | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Another Pleasant Stay - Rating 4/5

The second time we've chosen to stay overnight at The Jug and Glass in as many months, having some business to conduct in the area. We were more than pleased to stay again, having found the welcome warm, the room quiet and comfortable, the beer well-kept and the food delicious. Added to that the views all around are breathtaking. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Mark J | Wed 7th Aug 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Jug and Glass Inn, excellent place to stay and to dine - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay at Jug and Glass Inn,comfortable,clean and very good food.

Reviewer:B | Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Lovely quaint inn - Rating 5/5

The Jug and Glass Inn was lovely, beautiful views, comfy beds, and very polite staff.The only improvement could be a faster wifi connection.Would happily stay again.

Reviewer:Luke S | Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Perfect base for Y Not Festival - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, lovely room, great food!

Reviewer:Lucy B | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Views 360 - Rating 5/5

A lovely pleasant stop. Very clean and owners are very helpful. Stunning location.

Reviewer:Rebecca G | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Spot On - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming and clean Inn, whose hosts are accommodating helpful and friendly.Lovely rooms and excellent breakfast.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mark C | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely place to stay. Very pet friendly - Rating 5/5

Good food, very friendly owners, bedroom large enough for 2 adults plus dog.Beds very comfortable.Lots of lovely walks close by.

Reviewer:karen p | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Peaks challenge ladies - Rating 5/5

Top stars for our stay here everyone was very welcoming and I would come back again.

Reviewer:Leighanne T | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Great place to stay with easy access to many places. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic accommodation for us &our dog. It was so easy having a bedroom on the ground floor. Plenty of space for parking &plenty of grass areas for our dog.The bedroom was lovely with many extras that we didn’t expect. Breakfast &evening meals were very good. Owners were great hosts.

Reviewer:C | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


night away - Rating 4/5

friendly hosts clean room with wonderful views.very quiet.would like to return and walk in area.

Reviewer:O | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Good value- Rating 5/5

Large room which was very clean. Friendly owners providing good service. We enjoyed our evening meal. We had the Penang veggie curry. No parking issues. Good WiFi speeds. Excellent packed lunch for our walk.

Reviewer:Brian S | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Room 9 - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay over night whilst visiting family. Nice large clean twin room. In the on suite the basin has been put nearly over the toilet which could make "things"a bit difficult for the less agile! Huge bath towels. Will be staying again.

Reviewer:Jonathan O | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

Brilliant two nights in this most comfortable pub. Lovely bed and lots of little thought to make you feel at home. Super big towels and great loo paper, always a sign that some thought has been put into my stay. Really wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewer:Sue A | Tue 9th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

The dog and I are just back from a lovely weekend here. Very comfortable room, with everything you could wish for and even a bowl, blanket and biscuits for the doh. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were friendly and very happy to accommodate my my requests for gluten free food. Would definitely recommend and will be back!

Reviewer:Jo d | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Just spent 2 nights at the jug and glass lovely room and people nothing was a problem. Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Anne A | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Poppy loved the Bar - Rating 5/5

Good Food,Good Hosts, Poppy our Staffi loved the attention and the Bar

Reviewer:richard g | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Three night stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a thoroughly enjoyable three night stay at the Jug &Glass with our two dogs. It was an excellent base for exploring some wonderful countryside, being close to the High Peak, Manifold &Tissington trails. The room was clean &comfortable with adequate tea/coffee making facilities. The included continental breakfast was superb, with a full English available for a small cost.The bar area was very comfortable where we could relax &have a meal with our dogs. The food was excellent, we eat there the three nights, the highlight of which was Sunday’s Lamb shank. We learned that the owners had only taken over the business about nine months earlier. They were very friendly &most helpful. They even phoned around for a place to stay for a couple who had arrived in the hope of booking a room only for the Jug &Glass to be fully booked. We would have no hesitation in returning to the Jug &Glass.

Reviewer:B | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Annie and Darryl are doing a great job taking over this pub. The welcome was warm and never did anything seem too much trouble. Wonderful food. We enjoyed Bothe the continental and cooked breakfasts on different days and both were excellent. So were the evening mealsThey are steadily upgrading the facilities. A credit to them both. Once complete, will be five stars!!Bravo and thank you!

Reviewer:Stephanie H | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Very warm welcome, owners very accomodating and helpful.

Reviewer:Eileen B | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


A good place to rest your weary head - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night after visiting Chatsworth House. The room was well furnished &bed was comfortable.We had water, tea and coffee, TV and ensuite bath/shower room.We ate in &the evening meal was cooked to a good standard.We opted for a full cooked English breakfast the next morning which set us up for the following day

Reviewer:ANITA P | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


jug and glass inn - Rating 4/5

the inn was very clean good basic food and very good value owners were pleasant and hard working made our stay very enjoyable

Reviewer:peter k | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent standards and value

Reviewer:Ian H | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


An absolute gem - Rating 5/5

Great room , everything you need clean tidy big bedBreakfast superb and home cooked evening meal fantastic.Dog friendly and have rebooked for more nights later in the year.An absolute gem

Reviewer:Mark b | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


A Welcoming Hostelry in the Stunning Peaks - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room with beautiful view. Good car parking. Felt very welcome in the bar, beer was excellently kept and evening meal (I had steak and stilton pie) was plentiful and delicious. Would certain;y recommend and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Penelope J | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Andrew and Maggie Young - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay fabulous rooms and really friendly hosts first class

Reviewer:Y | Mon 27th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Walking in the peak - Rating 5/5

Warm comfy and welcoming, what more can you want

Reviewer:roger william l | Sat 25th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Comfortable and friendly. - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely few days here in May. Hosts were excellent, room clean and comfortable, food and beer very good. Bike lock-up a real bonus and the Inn is well situated for both cyclists and walkers. Hopefully return soon.

Reviewer:Tim H | Fri 17th May 2019 | 3 months ago


On top of the world - Rating 3/5

We spent one night here whilst visiting Chatsworth Horse Trials.The room was as described and the bathroom had good quality towels.The breakfast included fresh fruit but cooked food had to be ordered the previous night.The location is on a main road and there were quite a few lorries and cars passing but views of the rolling landscape were notable.

Reviewer:Julia P | Tue 14th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely weekend break - Rating 5/5

"Warm friendly,welcome from hardworking hosts. Lovely clean, comfortable and well furnished room with added bonus of a lovely view. Breakfasts were good as was evening meals and local Ales A perfect break in a beautiful part of the country."

Reviewer:n | Tue 14th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Very Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

Situated in fabulous surroundings with views on all sides.Accommodation is clean and comfortable. Road noise is no problem because rooms are at the back.Very friendly and family run.Good, honest and tasty food - not fancy.Very good value.Slightly flaky wifi available in bar area and restaurant but none in rooms.Not a huge problem for us but I think this will need sorting to maximise future bookings.Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:B | Thu 9th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

A warm and comfortable room and a warm welcome. Food was good and tremendous to feel we were welcomed with our dog. (She enjoyed the treats in the room) We will recommend this to friends.

Reviewer:K | Wed 1st May 2019 | 3 months ago


Birthday Treat- Rating 5/5

Fabulous welcoming stay for us and Summer the dog . Beautiful room, great food,amazing locationwilldefinitely recommend to friends and family .Can't wait to re-visitThanks for havingus :)

Reviewer:Cindy F | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


rural peace in Peak District - Rating 4/5

Good location in rural setting within 90 minutes of Manchester Aireport. Rooms clean and adequate. Cosy and friendly pub. Will stay there again next time we fly into Manchester and drive south. Beats staying in an airport hotel by a country mile!

Reviewer:Stuart B | Fri 26th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely place, lovely people - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a lovely stay. Room is lovely, the pwople that run it are so nice. Good pub food for the evening. Perfect

Reviewer:Mathew L | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Cyclists stopover - Rating 4/5

Decided to stay here when cycling south on the Pennine cycleway with a friend. Conveniently located just 1 mile from the Tissington trail and between the busier Buxton and Ashbourne. Good cycle store, friendly welcome, hearty pub food, and good clean facilities at a reasonable price. Would recommend this as a good place to stop. Ron

Reviewer:Ron M | Thu 18th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Great relaxing few nights. - Rating 5/5

We were looking for an historic pub with accommodation for a few relaxing nights.And that is what we got.Great location.Modern rooms recently decorated with comfortable furniture.The food was excellent value.Tasty food and generous portions.The prices could comfortably be 15% increased.The host and hostess are friendly and welcoming and run an amazing place.Truly recommended.

Reviewer:Paul G | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Adie C - Rating 5/5

A well stocked bar , excellent food and hosts. Bedrooms are a good size and offer excellent facilities.A most enjoyable time

Reviewer:C | Wed 10th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Amazing little B&B. The room was lovely and clean. We stayed in a king room which had plenty of space. The continental breakfast was really nice with fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, cereal and croissants. We didn't feel the need to upgrade to a cooked breakfast. Could not find a fault with our stay and would happily return as it's very central to the area of the peak district we like to visit and was not over priced.

Reviewer:Sarah R | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Fabulous stay right in the heart of the Peak District - Rating 5/5

Wonderful weekend and very friendly hardworking couple that could not do enough for our little girl and dog. Great location to explore the sites and will be returning.

Reviewer:N | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

I recently stayed at the Jug and Glass Inn with my mother and her Jack Russell.The hosts were welcoming and friendly.The room was spotless, smelt fresh and the facilities in the room were excellent.Had a great nights sleep and the buffet breakfast was extensive and well organised.This accommodation is well priced and the perfect location for exploring the Peak District.They really are dog friendly too. I would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Karen P | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay at the Jug and Glass Inn - Rating 5/5

Myself and my friend visited Derbyshire for a weekend away and had a lovely stay at the Jug and Glass Inn. The staff were very friendly and the Inn has a lovely atmosphere. In a fantastic location the Inn has great views of the amazing countryside.

Reviewer:Annabelle W | Mon 25th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm cosy pub. Very clean and food excellent and well priced. Stayed here before and will be staying here again. Fantastic views.

Reviewer:ben s | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Over night stay - Rating 5/5

Recommended by a friend as somewhere to stay with a dog. Lovely place, great food and welcoming.Lot's to do in surrounding areas.Will stay again.Thanks for a positive experience.

Reviewer:L | Wed 20th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hotel, lovely clean accommodation. Really made to feel welcome. Will come back 😁.

Response

Thank you for your kind review, We will look forward to seeing you again. Vicky & Daryll

Reviewer:Jon D | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Loved our stay at the Jug and Glass - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Jug and Glass for 2 nights over the New Year with our dog and we loved it. Hosts were lovely and friendly and the pub was really cosy - just what you need after a days walking. The inn is in a really good location for walking, with Dovedale only a few minutes drive away. We loved the little gesture of the dog biscuits and dog blanket in our room. We would love to go and stay again !

Response

Thank you for your kind review we are glad you enjoyed it.We look forward to seeing you again. Vicky & Daryll

Reviewer:Lynsey H | Sat 5th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


A very enjoyable stay. - Rating 5/5

Nice friendly inn with good room's and excellent food.

Response

Thank you for your kind review hope to see you again soon. Vicky & Daryll

Reviewer:Gary B | Tue 1st Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Peak Break - Rating 4/5

What a great place for a short break. Room was clean and comfortable, and, despite the proximity of the pub to the A515, surprisingly undisturbed sleep. Our hosts and their staff were most affable, serving good pub food and excellent beers. Great base for exploring the peaks and we would definitely stay here again.

Response

Thank you so much Andrew,It was a pleasure to make your stay with us enjoyable.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Andrew C | Sat 26th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Two day break - Rating 5/5

Lovely, friendly place. We are vegans, and they tried really hard to make us as welcome as possible, even to the point of making a couple of meals especially for us. Can't fault the hospitality. The inn is not in the centre of a village, but we liked it that way. Very peaceful, with lovely views. The room was comfortable, with an en suite and clean. Ideal for a couple of days walking, or a base for visiting the local attractions. Really enjoyed our stay

Response

Dear Julie,Thanks for informing us of your dietary needs. We were only to pleased to help make your stay enjoyable.We hope to see you again on your next weekend break.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Julie m | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


The Jug and Glass Inn - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended.One of the most helpful and friendly places we have ever stayed.

Response

Thank you very much Meryl.Pleased to have been of service.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Meryl R | Sat 19th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

As 2 pals on our annual motorcycle rideout we found the Jug n Glass an ideal overnight stop.Large clean room..secure parking..good beer and excellent food. Stuart and his wife made us both very welcome..Thoroughly recommended.

Response

Hi Terry,It was great to have another two gents like yourself who liked what we had to offer. We welcome all bikers like yourselves who are looking to stop over, and enjoy a couple of pints and some home cooked food before bed.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Terry R | Sat 19th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Two night stay- Rating 4/5

A very relaxing and comfortable stay.The food was excellent and the staff friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thanks Stephen,We hope you will pop in and visit us again in the future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Stephen M | Tue 15th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Short stay in early August - Rating 3/5

My daughter and I were made very welcome. The room was comfortable and the evening meaal was good. Breakfast was adequate. I would have liked a choice of honey and Marmite in the spreads.The landlord was very friendly, the only real drawback was the lack of wifi or G4 signal for phones. This limited the research we could do for places to visit.

Response

Hi Linda.Thanks you for your feedback in relation to the internet. It is something we are looking to address in the near future.Thank you for staying with us.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda F | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


an ideal location for a short walking break - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay here tremendously. the owners were warm friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were freshly cooked and there was a good and varied choice. Bedrooms comfortable security and parking excellent. we look forward to staying here again

Response

Hi Judith,Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to looking after you again in the near future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Judith R | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Long weekend stay. - Rating 5/5

Excellent hosts who have taken the inn over in the last year and are striving very hard to modernise it and make it as comfortable as possible.Very attentive staff and good and wholesome food in the restaurant. Will be back!

Response

Thanks Terrence,look forward to seeing you again in the near future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:Terence B | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely views - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night while visiting local area.Owner was very pleasant and helpful. Lovely views from the very clean comfy room. Breakfast was excelllent wish I had time to have my evening meal here as looked really good.

Response

Hi Rick,We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will choose to stay in the future.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff.

Reviewer:Rick H | Sat 17th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely time - Rating 4/5

Wonderful food, comfortable bed and room, very quiet night although beside the main road. Good beers and very friendly landlord, landlady and staff. Good value for money

Response

Hi Bob,Great to have you stay, and so pleased you enjoyed the beers.Best wishes,Stuart, Gwen and Staff

Reviewer:BOB C | Wed 14th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Pilgrim\'s trail - Rating 5/5

Recently stayed here as a group of 5 walking the pilgrim's trail at the beginning of May.Great place for the walk, warm welcome from our hosts, lovely rooms and the piece de resistance a long, deep bath and loads of hot water! This is then topped by lovely food after a hard day's walking.I seriously recommend the Jug and Glass and look forward to returning soon.

Response

Thanks Val.It was great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mrs. Val G | Wed 24th May 2017 | 2 years ago


2 night stay on Sunday 7th to Tuesday 9th May - Rating 5/5

We couldn't fault the accommodation, food or service.

Response

Thanks Tony,We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Tony B | Sat 13th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely Place! - Rating 5/5

Very nice Inn. Owners very nice and accommodating. Good location to travel to nearby towns including Buxton and Bakewell. 45 minute drive from Kinder Scout route.

Response

Thanks Connor,Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.Best wishesStuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Connor H | Sun 23rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


great - Rating 5/5

this pub is brilliant. stayed here twice this year already . rooms nice and cosy, everything very clean, stuart and gwen took it over last year i think. nothing is too much trouble. food, we've stayed here for four nights altogether and i had beef stew every night, although it beat me one night, other food looked really good and my wife really liked her veggie meal. can't fault anything about this pub. superb location in the middle of the peak district.I'LL BE BACK

Response

Thanks again Anthony.The Beef Stew has slain many a fine man and woman. It was great to see you again and i hope you will be coming again in the near future.Kindest wishes to you both.stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. anthony s | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect short stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent base for walking, cycling and local sights. Clean and comfortable with welcoming hosts, good, wholesome, tasty menu and good beer.

Response

Thanks John,We hope to see you again one day soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:John W | Sun 16th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A very warm welcome - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome. Upgraded from a twin to a double. Room very comfy, clean and spacious. Food excellent. Stuart and Gwen very accommodating, which extended to them even fixing us up with breakfast, though we hadn't booked one. Definitely returning.

Response

Thanks Joy,We will be seeing you again soon.Best wishesStuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Joy R | Sun 16th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Fun at the Jug - Rating 5/5

Very good room and so close Tissington rail trail and Harrington. Hosts fabulous as we're the breakfasts and dinners

Response

Thanks Diana,Next time you come we will see if we can tempt you with one of our specials for the evening menu.So glad you enjoyed your stay.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Diana C | Wed 12th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Thank you for a lovely stay. - Rating 4/5

We would also like to take this oportunity to thank you both for a lovely stay.Your hospitality and cooking were wonderful, and the setting absolutely beautiful.You are also ideally located for a cycling holiday in the amazing Peak district.We were delighted to find that we could access the Tissington and High Peak trails so easily without having to use our cars.The mattress in room 7 was unfortunately rather hard and a bitlumpy but that was the only negative thing. (Our travelling companions all had comfortable beds so it must just have been ours).Would definitely have given 5 stars otherwise. Highly recommend.

Response

Thanks Rosie,We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosie C | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Three day break - Rating 5/5

We couldn't fault the Jug and Glass Inn and enjoyed excellent food, a full range of facilities and a very friendly atmosphere. Great location for walking, cycling with beautiful Dales scenery as a backdrop. Cheers Joan and Peter.

Response

Thanks Joan and Peter,Great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We willhope to see you both again soon.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. Peter O | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Three day break - Rating 5/5

We couldn't fault the Jug and Glass Inn and enjoyed excellent food, a full range of facilities and a very friendly atmosphere. Great location for walking, cycling with beautiful Dales scenery as a backdrop. Cheers Joan and Peter.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter O | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


would recommend- Rating 4/5

Very Friendly and clean and good food

Response

Hi Sue,Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Best wishes,Stuartcand Gwen

Reviewer:Sue D | Wed 5th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


a very positive experience - Rating 5/5

We found the landlord welcoming, happy to accommodate our changed arrival time.The best experience was that the kitchen was happy to supply my husband with gluten free breakfast, even though this is not the expected option.

Response

Hi DavidThank you for staying with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:David B | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A great place to stay - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay with you. It worked really well in with the cycling being so close to the White Peak Trails.The food was excellent, particularly the fish pie. The room was very comfortable as well.As helpful comments could we suggest more towel rails in the en suite to hang towels up to dry &in the restaurant suggest having a wine list with a larger selection although what we had was fine.We hope to come back &would always recommend you. All the best for your first summer season. Owain &Julie Lister.

Response

Hi Owain,Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. I appreciate your feedback and we will certainly be reviewing all such constructive feedback with a view to improving our business in the coming months. Thanks once again and keep cycling, especially after demolishing that fish pie. I will also see if i can surprise you with a little nip of scotch that you may not have tried next time you pop in.All the best to you and your family.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. Owain L | Tue 21st Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely people, lovely place 😍 we will be going back very soon.

Response

Thanks so much for your feedback. we hope to see you soon.stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun W | Sat 21st Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


New Year Trip - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Jug &Glass we did not have chance to dine there ,as we had gone to surprise friends who live near and they insisted we joined then.We we go back again in spring.

Response

Hi Cristin. Thank you for staying with us and we are just very pleased that you are considering us in the future.Best wishesStuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Christinr H | Mon 2nd Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


New year weekend- Rating 4/5

We have just had a long weekend at the glass &jug both Stuart and Gwen were very helpful and friendly especially as they have only had the pub for a month the rooms were large and very clean the food was basic fare but very good. Had a great stay and would stay again

Response

Hi Deborah,Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Deborah N | Mon 2nd Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay- Rating 4/5

Stayed overnight while visiting the local area. Avery warm welcome by the owners who did everything to make our stay enjoyable,The home cookedfood was tasty and came in very large portions.A cosy and comfortable place to stay

Response

Dear Malcolm,Thank you for staying with us, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Malcolm O | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


A friendly Inn with a beautiful view - Rating 5/5

Just 2 weeks into their venture, the hosts provided my wife and I a warm and friendly venue for an overnight stay. The home-cooked food menu was wholesomely basic and provided a tasty evening meal, although at £9.95 per head we chose to skip breakfast. Two local well-kept real ales just had to be sampled too! Perfectly located for easy access on the A515, poised on the top of an escarpment overlooking a wondrous view of the valley below, I'm sure many a holiday-maker will be happy with their decision to "stay a while"at this Inn.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Kevin W | Fri 30th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay very welcoming- Rating 5/5

Lovely place and room, new owners who were very welcoming and helpful. Fully supportive of my Coeliac disease providing me with gluten free bread and cereal.

Response

Thank you very much Jade. We hope to see you again sometime soon. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Best wishes,Stuart and Gwen

Reviewer:Miss. Jade H | Fri 30th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


A most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

we enjoyed our stay The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, both the breakfasts and evening meals.Well placed for lots of good walks and places to visit. We hope to visit again.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Angela W | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay,room,food and beer great,brilliant location for bike hire,staff very friendly and helpful,would stay again

Response

Thank you very much. Yvonne

Reviewer:Mrs. AlisonCox| Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Relaxing weekend - Rating 5/5

We had lovely rooms and very friendly service. The food was great and the portions a very good size. They were freshly prepared and very hot. The dinners had a good variety of vegetables and were well presented.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. susan s | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


October 2016 - Rating 5/5

Very friendly with excellent food and beer. Really good local knowledge of walking routes.

Response

Thank you.Pleased you enjoyed your stay.Andrew & Yvonne

Reviewer:Mr. Dave T | Sun 9th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Our room was very comfortable and clean with great views. We were on the ground floor which meant we could park our car away from the road and under our window. Good pub food each night of our stay. Handy for Chatsworth, Buxton and Bakewell, all worth a visit.Great weekend!

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Anthony C | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


lovely place - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay. Room excellent very clean everywhere.Breakfast very good and a good choice of evening meal.Would definately recommend.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Maureen S | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Nice weekend break - Rating 4/5

Comfy clean room. Great location for country walks, which was our main reason for visiting the area. Friendly landlady. Great cider!Thank you.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Geoff C | Tue 20th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, comfortable bed, superb shower, lovely touch of toiletries supplied. The food is brilliant. Beautiful location with stunning views. Yvonne and Andrew are wonderful friendly, welcoming hosts who deliver service with a smile. We had a wonderful 4 night stay at this beautiful inn and will stay again. Thanks Yvonne, Andrew and your great staff.

Response

Thanks Carol.

Reviewer:Carol R | Thu 15th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Business Trip to Buxton - Rating 4/5

Good location on way to Buxton, comfortable room with king size bed and good sized bathroom.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:PAUL W | Fri 9th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Short break in the dales- Rating 4/5

Nice place with friendly staff and food good. I personally think slightly overpriced as no breakfast was included. Room excellent and facilities in the room were good.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Mark M | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Disabled
  • Self Catering
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat